Chocolate Cream Cheese Cupcakes

blog post 2

 

I’ve carried this recipe around with me for years.  My mom used to make these for us when we were little.  They are so moist, they don’t need any icing but if you’re in the mood for a really sweet treat, cream cheese icing would be perfect on these!  And, not only are they delicious, but they are super easy to make!

 

INGREDIENTS:

I box of chocolate cake mix (any brand will do, but I used Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge Cake Mix)

( the cake mix I used called for 3 eggs, 1/2 cup of vegetable oil and 1 1/4 cups of water)

8 oz. package of cream cheese

1/3 cup sugar

1 egg

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1 cup of chocolate chips

 

 

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Line your cupcake pan with liners.

Prepare the cake mix as directed on the box and fill 21 to 24 cupcakes 3/4 of the way full  (I only managed to fill 21 cupcake cups).

Set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat the cream cheese, sugar and salt until well mixed and a bit fluffy (about a minute or two).

Add in the egg and mix until completely combined.

Mix in the chocolate chips.

Drop the cream cheese mixture, by teaspoonfuls, into the chocolate cupcakes.

Place the cupcakes into the oven and turn the temperature down to 325 degrees F.

Bake for 25 minutes.

Let cool in the pan about five minutes then place on a cooling rack to finish cooling.

Dig in!

 

Happy Baking!

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Cream Cheese Cupcakes

  1. Nice. Still, I’m a DIY as much as possible these days so cake mixes are on my shit list. No dis intended–there are folks who get pissy with me cuz I don’t grow my own vegetables or make my own chicken broth (often enough). Only so many hours in the waking day.

  2. Yum, cupcakes! Family recipes are usually the best 🙂 I wanted to thank you for following my blog, Produce on Parade. I hope you find many recipes to keep you happy and healthy. Your support is really appreciated! 🙂 Cheers!

  3. Thanks so much everyone for the comments! And yes, yes, I know they’re made with store bought cake mix. If you have a “from scratch” chocolate cake recipe, you could substitute it for the boxed cake mix and the cupcakes would be just as wonderful! Just don’t tell my mom! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Cream Cheese Cupcakes | invigor8u

Leave a Reply

